MY FIRST LOVE

Carrie-carrie-bradshaw-12752311-500-449

In an episode of Sex and the City, Carrie Bradshaw says,  “if Louis was right, and you only get one great love, New York may just be mine” and that is exactly how I feel about fashion.

Fashion has always been my first great love, and it might just be my longest lasting relationship. To some that might sound shallow, even a little cliché but there is something about the world of fashion that has always left me spellbound. I find fashion to be extremely transformative and cathartic and in my opinion it is one of the greatest forms of art and possibly one of the greatest forms of self-expression. Fashion gives people the opportunity to decide who they want to be and dress the part. It has the ability to inspire, empower, enthrall, and can even offer up bits of nostalgia and comfort. Most importantly, if chosen correctly the right pieces can often be seen as wearable pieces of art and have the power to make people stand up just a little bit (or a lot) taller.

I don’t have enough room on this blog to explain why I love fashion so much or why I am so passionate about it, but can try to chalk it up to a general feeling of the heart. Like any great love, you just know. Not to make my current boyfriend jealous or anything but there is not much else that inspires me more, or that allows me to feel most like myself, or in in some cases who I want to be. My bank account should probably take note.

My love of fashion is one of the things I hope to share with you through my blog and I hope my posts will inspire you to figure out who you want to be and dress the part.

xx

Caroline

Leave a Reply

