THE GREAT GATSBY

Image

This past weekend I went to see Baz Luhrmann’s cinematic interpretation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s iconic book The Great Gatsby. Since The Great Gatsby is one of my favorite books, I have been in love with Leonardo di Caprio since I saw him in Romeo and Juliet when I was thirteen, and costume designer Catherine Martin is a genius – going to see the movie was a no brainer for me.

Thankfully, I was not disappointed. To be fair – movies are rarely as good as the book but I think it’s important to go to a movie with that in mind in order to truly appreciate the director’s vision of the novel and I can honestly say that Luhrmann’s interpretation of “The Great American Novel” was nothing short of stunning. The cinematography was absolutely beautiful and the costumes in particular were to die for… and of course, Leo didn’t look that bad either.

Highlights for me included pretty much everything that Daisy Buchanan wore, the amazing jewelry showcased throughout the movie (a collaboration between Catherine Martin and Tiffany’s,) Jay Gatsby’s impeccably tailored suits and the many party scenes at Gatsby ‘s mansion which, showcased the incredible amount of work Martin spent on each and every costume.

The movie was literally heaven for any fashion lover and I recommend going out to see it immediately.

xx

Caroline

 

Leave a Reply

